Research, Calibrate, Simulate, Validate

Predictive Analytics
Data analytics from professional hands

ROKOCO Predictive Analytics combines actuarial and financial market expertise, econometric and statistical expertise and computer science know-how. Questions in the area of data analytics are answered in such a way that practical benefits can be drawn directly from them. We combine experience in the insurance industry with current research. In close exchange with academic science, we develop and implement calibration and simulation methods.

Economic Scenario Generator (ESG)

Capital market scenarios are used in many fields and sectors. Real-world expectations of capital markets are playing an increasingly important role in the crucial issue of corporate planning. General economic key figures also have a considerable influence on projections for corporate management. In modern simulation programs, such real-world scenarios are occasionally used stochastically, whereby the deterministic form is often used.

Another prime use of capital market scenarios is the valuation within risk-neutral models. This applies particularly to companies in the financial industry. The calculations and simulations to be created are predominantly stochastic. For insurance companies, there is a need to create a market value-oriented (economic) view in addition to the German GAAP-oriented, deterministic reporting. This can have an impact on the investment universe, including targeted financial market products. Consequently, institutional investors are affected with regard to making appropriate strategic asset and risk allocation decisions.
Based on the stochastic simulation methods used for the analysis, scattered results that depend on the postulated interest rate structure follow. Particularly in life and health insurance, but also in the long-tail business of property / casualty insurance, this can have significant consequences for risk and capital management. The interaction of investment income and actuarial practice produces increases in fluctuations in the results, especially those of the solvency capital.

To be able to correctly evaluate asymmetries and key risk figures, the respective parameters must be determined with as many yield developments as possible. The best possible depiction of the investment is required for this purpose. Interest rate structures alone are not enough. Risk factors such as stock indices, real estate performance and credit spreads, as well as other economic factors affecting the claims area, including feedback across the causal network (correlation and causality), need to be simulated.


Data Science Data Science

Our established procedure has been certified by a leading auditing firm to guarantee our clients greater audit security in their use of Solvency II reporting. Because the generation of capital market scenarios containing several thousand paths is very computationally intensive, ROKOCO Predictive Analytics offers the option of producing capital market scenarios on a company’s behalf.

Scenarios for the following purposes can be ordered:

  • risk-neutral valuation (e.g. for Solvency II)
  • real-world valuation (e.g. for planning)
  • PRIIP calculations
In this case, the produced scenarios can be conveniently and easily retrieved via a file server for use in the company. This saves the client tedious tasks, such as the search for suitable simulation seeds or carrying out the complex validation process. In addition to the scenario files provided, supplementary documentation, such as detailed validation reports, method documentation, etc. are also included.

We support our clients with these services:

  • validation
  • calibration
  • simulation
  • training on ESG-processes

PRIIP-ESG – comming Q2 2019

Generating the key information documents (KIDs) for PRIIP has meanwhile become a fixed component in the process of new business for life insurers. The simulation of capital market scenarios with an ESG is a key component of this process. Due to the relevance towards the end-customer, the quality requirements are immense. For this specific reason, ROKOCO has developed a web-based PRIIP-ESG, which not only simulates the scenarios, but also validates them. The output can be directly plugged into the preferred calculation system/tool for PRIIP. The validation results can be used to document that the used scenarios fulfill the regulatory requirements.
The PRIIP-ESG as a web-app will be available by mid of 2019. A cost-free version will enable users to generate all scenarios required for PRIIP (including stress scenarios). It includes the validation function, which checks the simulated seed. This version is ideal for companies, which use generic KIDs for their products.

For insurers that count on specific KIDs and a large selection of funds an extended version is available. There, supplementary functionalities such as the download of validation reports, additional configuration options and increased performance are included.

PRIIP – category 2

For the calculations needed for PRIIP Kategorie 2, the PRIIP Scenario App „PRISCA“ was developed.
For more information about PRISCA please refer to our cooperation partner f-fex AG.

Artificial Intelligence & Machine Learning

For more than 7 years, ROKOCO has put mathematical concepts like neural networks and clustering to work in its tools (see „Portfolio Compression“). The challenge with machine learning is the combination of mathematical/IT-technical methods with the specific expertise in the respective field.
ROKOCO is currently engaged in research and development projects about using artificial intelligence in the field of insurance and capital markets. Here we work together with reputable insurance companies from Germany.

Recherchieren, Kalibrieren, Simulieren, Validieren

Predictive Analytics
Data Analytics aus professionellen Händen

Bei ROKOCO Predictive Analytics wirken aktuarielle & finanzmarkttechnische Kompetenz, ökonometrisches & statistisches Fachwissen sowie Informatik-Knowhow gemeinsam. Fragestellungen im Bereich Data Analytics werden so beantwortet, dass daraus direkt praktischer Nutzen gezogen werden kann. Unsere Erfahrungen aus der Versicherungswirtschaft verbinden wir mit aktueller Forschung. In engem Austausch mit der Wissenschaft werden von uns genutzte Kalibrierungs- und Simulationsmethoden entwickelt und technisch umgesetzt.

Economic Scenario Generator (ESG)

Kapitalmarktszenarien oder Economic Scenarios kommen in vielerlei Bereichen und Branchen zum Einsatz. Ein Kernpunkt ist die Unternehmensplanung, bei der Real-World-Erwartungen an die Kapitalmärkte eine immer wichtiger werdende Rolle spielen. Aber auch allgemeine volkswirtschaftliche Kennzahlen haben erheblichen Einfluss auf die Hochrechnungen zur Unternehmensteuerung. In modernen Simulationsprogrammen werden solche Real-World-Szenarien bereits stochastisch genutzt, wobei oftmals auch die deterministische Form genutzt wird.

Ein weiterer wesentlicher Nutzungsbereich von Kapitalmarktszenarien ist die Bewertung innerhalb risikoneutraler Modelle. Dies betrifft insbesondere Unternehmen aus der Finanzindustrie. Die zu erstellenden Berechnungen & Simulationen erfolgen vorwiegend stochastisch. Für Versicherungsunternehmen besteht die Notwendigkeit neben dem HGB-orientierten, deterministischen Reporting zusätzlich eine marktwertorientierte (ökonomische) Betrachtung zu erstellen. Diese kann sich auf das Anlageuniversum einschließlich zielführender Finanzmarktprodukte auswirken. Folglich betrifft dies auch institutionellen Anleger im Hinblick auf ihre geeignete strategische Asset- und Risiko-Allokations-Entscheidungen.
Auf Grund der zur Analyse eingesetzten stochastischen Simulations-Methoden ergibt sich eine Streuung der Ergebnisse in Abhängigkeit der postulierten Zinsstruktur. Ins Besondere in der Lebens- und Krankenversicherung, aber auch im long-tail Geschäft der Schaden-/Unfallversicherung kann dies signifikante Folgen für die Risiko- und Kapitalsteuerung haben. Die Wechselwirkung von Kapitalerträgen mit der Versicherungstechnik zieht verstärkt Schwankungen der Ergebnisse, speziell des Solvenzkapitals nach sich.

Um Asymmetrien und Risikokennzahlen richtig bewerten zu können, müssen die jeweiligen Kenngrößen mit möglichst vielen Renditeentwicklungen bestimmt werden. Eine möglichst gute Abbildung der Kapitalanlage ist hierfür erforderlich. Zinsstrukturen alleine reichen nicht aus. Risikofaktoren wie z.B. Aktienindizes, Real-Estate-Wertentwicklungen und Credit-Spreads sowie weitere ökonomische Faktoren mit Wirkung auf den Schadenbereich, einschließlich der Rückkoppelungen im gesamten Wirkungsgefüge (Korrelation und Kausalität), müssen simuliert werden.


Data Science Data Science

Unser etabliertes Verfahren wurde durch ein führendes Wirtschaftsprüfungsunternehmen zertifiziert, damit für unsere Kunden eine höhere Prüfsicherheit bei Verwendung für das Solvency II-Reporting gewährleistet ist. Nachdem die Erzeugung von Kapitalmarkszenarien mit mehreren 1.000 Pfaden sehr rechenintensiv ist, bietet ROKOCO Predictive Analytics die Möglichkeit Kapitalmarktszenarien im Auftrag zu fertigen.

Für folgende Zwecke können Szenarien bezogen werden:

  • Risikoneutrale Bewertung (z.B. für Solvency II)
  • Real-World-Bewertung (z.B. für Planung)
  • PRIIP-Berechnungen
Die fertigen Szenarien können bequem und einfach über einen FileServer für den Einsatz im Unternehmen bezogen werden. Damit erspart sich der Mandant mühsame Aufgaben wie die Suche nach geeigneten Simulations-Seeds oder den aufwendigen Validierungsprozess. Neben den Szenariodateien werden ergänzende Dokumentationen wie ein ausführlicher Validierungsreport, eine Methodendokumentation, etc. bereitgestellt.

Mit folgenden Services kann ROKOCO unterstützen:

  • Validierung
  • Kalibrierung
  • Simulation
  • Schulungen zum ESG-Prozess

PRIIP-ESG – ab Q2 2019

Die Erstellung von Produktinformationsblättern (PRIIP-BIBs) ist mittlerweile zu einem festen Prozessbestandteil des Neugeschäfts für Lebensversicherungsunternehmen geworden. Dabei ist die Erstellung von Kapitalmarktszenarien mit einem ESG eine notwendige Komponente, an welche mit Blick auf die Endkunden-Relevanz sehr hohe Qualitätserfordernisse gestellt werden. ROKOCO hat speziell für diesen Zweck einen web-basierten PRIIP-ESG entwickelt, der solche Szenarien nicht nur simuliert, sondern sogleich auch validiert. Der Output kann direkt in das präferierte Berechnungstool für PRIIP eingesetzt werden. Mit den Validierungsergebnissen lässt sich nachwiesen, dass die Szenarien den regulatorischen Anforderungen genügen.
Der PRIIP-ESG als Web-App ist ab Mitte 2019 verfügbar. Eine kostenfreie Version wird die Erstellung sämtlicher für PRIIP benötigter Szenarien (inkl. Stress-Szenarien) ermöglichen. Er umfasst zudem die Validierungsfunktion, mit welcher ein simulierter Seed geprüft werden kann. Diese Version ist ideal für Unternehmen, die auf generische BIBs setzen.

Gesellschaften, die mit spezifischen BIBs und einem großen Fondsangebot arbeiten, bietet eine erweitere Version zusätzliche Funktionen wie Validierungsreports, erweiterte Einstellungsmöglichkeiten und Performancesteigerungen.

PRIIP – Kategorie 2

Für die Berechnungen, die unter PRIIP Kategorie 2 notwendig sind, wurde die PRIIP Scenario App „PRISCA“ entwickelt.
Mehr Informationen hierzu erhalten Sie bei unserem Kooperationspartner f-fex AG.

Künstliche Intelligenz & Machine Learning

Seit über 7 Jahren werden mathematische Verfahren wie Neuronale Netze und Clustering in Tools von ROKOCO eingesetzt (siehe „Verdichtungstool“). Die Herausforderung bei Machine Learning ist die Kombination der mathematischen/IT-technischen Verfahren mit dem entsprechenden Fachwissen im jeweiligen Feld.
Bei ROKOCO laufen aktuell Forschungs- & Entwicklungsprojekte im Feld der Künstlichen Intelligenz in Zusammenhang mit aktuariellen bzw. finanzmarktrelevanten Fragestellungen. Hierbei arbeiten wir mit namhaften Versicherungsunternehmen aus Deutschland zusammen.